Saskatchewan NAC

Saskatchewan Art News

Artists chosen for celebration of 100th Anniversary of Legislature

Artists chosen for celebration of 100th Anniversary of Legislature

Topics: Saskatchewan

Eight Saskatchewan artists have been chosen for an Artist in Residence program intended to celebrate and enhance the province’s 100-year-old Legislative Building, in Regina. Each artist will have a two-week residency at the legislature during the seven months allocated to complete the artworks, and is asked to create two works of art, one of which will be permanently displayed in the rotunda of the Legislative Building.

After a province-wide call for proposals, the chosen artists are:

Robert Assie - Saskatoon

Heather Cline - Regina

Allan Doston - Regina

Terri Fidelak - Regina

Laura Hale - Tisdale

Miranda Jones - Saskatoon

Sandra Ledingham - Saskatoon

Anita Smith - Saskatoon

Laura Hale is also artist coordinator for the $100,000 project, which is being hosted by the Saskatchewan Legislature in conjunction with the Saskatchewan Arts Board.

The finished artwork will be unveiled on December 5th, 2012. 

Designed by Montreal architects Edward and William S. Maxwell, construction on the Saskatchewan Legislative Building began in 1908 and it was officially opened on October 12, 1912. The building is open to the public seven days a week.  Summer hours (May 21 - September 5) are 8:00 am to 9:00 pm, while winter hours are 8:00 am to 5:00 pm but closed from noon to 1:00 pm.  Learn more about visiting the Saskatchewan Legislature here.


You can learn more about the schedule of anniversary celebrations at the anniversary website.

Log in or sign up to comment
Saskatchewan Network for Art Collecting